Learning new things every day:
1. be careful when you're in the TT courses (or any courses) not to ever delete pages. The Attendance, Gradebook and Coursework portals allow you to inadvertantly delete, and once deleted, these are not retreivable in the course. If you are not using a page, you can click on the context manager, which will give you an option to remove certain pages from student view. Much safer way to reduce the screen clutter and avoid a deletion that can't be undone later.
2. When setting up Forums, you are asked about end dates for the forum. At the end date selected, the forum will delete, so be really careful about choosing the end date! Upon automatic deletion, forum content will be archived, but no longer viewable/usable by students.